Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 01-20-2009, 06:56 PM

Default Looking for a Rod

So I am currently fishing with a borrowed Sage FLI 8' 4wt. I have had some limited fishing experience but enough to know I love the sport and want a nicer rod. I understand that alot of choosing a rod is casting them and seeing which ones you like best. But to start I want to know what some people here think. I want a rod thats a good all-around rod, big streams/tailwaters, and smaller stuff. I want to stay under $700 for the rod, so fire away. Offer suggestions on make/model/wieght/action, anything you like or dont like about certain rods. I know its cold so take some time to help a brotha out.

-Neil
Old 01-20-2009, 09:28 PM

Hey Neil, welcome to the board....I would HIGHLY suggest buying a Sage FLi. I've got one and they are simply high quality rods. As a result of Sage discontinuing the FLi series, they are marked down A LOT...The FLi is a fast action rod, so if you are comfortable with stiff, but powerful fly rods, this is it...A general weight and length is an 8'6"/6 weight. You said that you are already using/borrowing an FLi...so you know how they work, and what they're like...Also think about those TCR rods....

Last edited by Tarheelflyfishing; 01-21-2009 at 07:07 PM..
Old 01-20-2009, 09:29 PM

Default Best Combo for under $700...

Money is not the object? If my guess is correct, the Sage FLi is a fast action rod and more than anything that my be the reason you're not happy with it. Before dropping serious money on a new rod, you should try a few out first. That's really the only way to know. Plus you'd be surprised at how many rods BELOW the FLi price may be more enjoyable to cast. You'll probably want a slower action (less tip flex, more full flexing), based on your dislike for the FLi.