Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 01-28-2009, 06:04 PM

Default Peerless

Does anyone have any experience or care to give a voice about the peerless reels that looks like some of the hardy reels?
Old 01-28-2009, 08:02 PM

They are pretty expensive reels. But look pretty nice. I have no personal experience. Most (at least 4) of my reels are Islander. It's a Canadian company that makes some great products.
Old 01-29-2009, 09:54 AM

I will check out this Islander reel. I agree peerless is expensive (very). I think my next reel will be a Bauer.
Old 01-29-2009, 10:05 AM

I picked one or two up at the fly expo in Atlanta over the weekend. They look nice and have some good weight to them. Nice quiet and smooth click and pawl. I cast a rod that had one on it and it seemed to balance it out nicely. Never fished with one though. I know Bill Oyster caught a monster striper on one of his six weights with a click and pawl peerless. I don't think I could afford one right now though. Personally, I think there are many better options out there for less money but if you like it, get it. I hope to buy one one day but that will be far off. They look great on a cane rod.
Old 01-29-2009, 10:10 AM

That is where I seen them and played with them. Matter of fact it was at Bill Oysters stand I looked at it and cast his rods. I had posted last week asking if anyone was planning on attending, we could have finally met. I agree those are nice reels but $650 nice I am not sure.
Old 01-29-2009, 12:39 PM

I thought I wasn't going to be able to go but at the last minute I decided to run over on Sunday morning. We were back in Birmingham by 2:00. What did you think of Bill Oyster's rods?
Old 01-29-2009, 01:25 PM