Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > In The Backcountry

Old 03-01-2009, 05:58 PM

Default GSMNP Bear Knowledge

A few years ago I had a "very unpleasant" encounter with a black bear while fishing in British Columbia. Basically, the bear and myself were equally surprised. When he stood up he was taller than my 6'3" frame. Fortunately, he retreated back into the woods and I proceeded to put my heart back in my chest. Since that encounter I have learned to keep bear spray at hand and tie a couple of bells to the back of my fishing vest or backpack. I would appreciate any advice or knowledge concerning safety and how to deal with the bears in GSMNP.
Thanks,
Andy
Old 03-01-2009, 06:38 PM

Default Bears

Whats up man, first of all i am not an expert by any means regarding bears. That said i have spent a great deal of time fishing the park and have come accross quite a few bears. I have had them wonder up stream right on top of me, as well as standing on the shore looking right at me 10 feet away. I would say that for the most part the bears i have come accross are not scared of humans. I would believe this is in part to some idiots that still feel the need to feed them. I was told by a ranger once to just start singing to em, to try and make them aware of you and not surprise or threaten them. I think that the surprise factor greatly inhances the danger and chance of disaster. One thing is for sure, if you are in the elkmont area in the early fall/late summer ya gonna see em!!

Barry Murphy
828-400-3335 (Cell)

www.projecthealingwaters.org
"Healing Those Who Serve"
Old 03-01-2009, 08:08 PM