Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 07-20-2009, 06:02 PM

Default New Kayak

I am looking at buying a new kayak to fish the tailwaters around tennessee. I have looked at the native kayaks and I really like some of them. I am looking at one that I can stand up in, and would like to spend less than $1000 dollars. Does anyone have any recomendations on a type and brand of kayak that would work for this? Also does anyone know where I can go and purchase one?
Old 07-20-2009, 06:53 PM

Skip the kayak and buy an old $600 aluminum boat with trailer. Add a trolling motor and you are set...

Also, you will be able to sell the boat to upgrade or change easier than the kayak...
to choose, to respond, to change.”

Old 07-20-2009, 10:14 PM

Yeah I have thought about that also, but I have little boat experience and I just thought a kayak would be easier. I do already have a trolling motor so it would end up being less expensive Do you know where I could get a boat like that?
Old 07-21-2009, 08:20 AM

Heck get both! I don't know about small john boats but i can tell you this having a kayak rigged up for fishing is awesome, you can go where no one else can, you can rigit by yourself very easily with anything from rod holders to cup holders. So many ways to tweak it to suit your fishing, Plus putting into lakes and rivers requires little more than a small break in the tree line, they are light and easily dragged to you secret access spots. Well worth it, plus you can score a sit-in, which i have, for 3-4 hundred dollars check Gander Mt, nice dude works there and will help you see how to rigg it, also check Dicks sports, i have a basic pelican sit-in and I love it, no trailer no moving parts, no worries just throw it in the truck bed or on the roof racks. Fish'll never see ya coming!

Barry Murphy
828-400-3335 (Cell)

www.projecthealingwaters.org
"Healing Those Who Serve"