Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 08-13-2009, 12:22 PM

Default Good Day on Walker Camp

Hi, all. I'm new to the message board, but a long time GSMNP angler (although not by old-timer standards!). Anyway, I thought I'd share that I had an excellent afternoon session on Walker Camp Prong yesterday. I fished Trout Branch a bit just to check it out but didn't have any luck. In spite of all the people that were out yesterday, I still managed to do really well on Walker Camp fishing a grasshopper w/ a green weenie dropper. I also caught several on a woolly booger I had tied. I was just having a little fun trying to fish one of my first self-tied flies, and I was surprised at how aggressively the trout went after my streamer. I caught 10 bows and a brookie in about 2 hours of fishing.

That's all! I left my camera sitting by the door, but next time I'll post some pix.

Jah!
Old 08-13-2009, 02:06 PM

Carlito,

I hate to hear that the exploration of Trout Branch was unsuccessful. I would have loved to scout it out with you but the chores were too many. With dove season approaching I needed to do a little field work.

jasonkelkins at yahoo dot com
Old 08-16-2009, 09:29 AM

Dude, it looked like it was going to be money. There are a series of really steep runs and small but fairly deep pools that are bound to hold trout. I only went about .25 mi up the creek though. I sure didn't want to end up with a broken leg up that creek by myself! It was really tight fishing too. It is probably only 10 ft wide at in the biggest sections.
Old 08-16-2009, 10:33 AM

Default Trout Branch

Carlito,