Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 10-02-2009, 03:37 PM

Default Fly fishing gear for beginners

Hello I am new to fly fishing (i have actually never gone before) I was wondering what is some good cheap gear. I found and they seem to have some pretty cheap prices on their gear. Any suggestions?
Old 10-02-2009, 04:23 PM

Well BK that's a lot of ground to cover. I suggest you do a search on this forum. You'll find a lot of info given to guys in your situation. You'll enjoy the responses. If at all possible, put yourself in the hands of someone who has flyfished for a while and may have some gear for you to try. Lacking that give LRO a call. They know their stuff. The last resort would be to just start buying stuff. I could have bought a couple of nice rods with the money I wasted going that route. I suggest a five weight graphite for an all around rod, but I lean toward a four weight for the mountains. You'll end up with several if you get into this. I think you'll find flyfishing is a journey. Enjoy the trip. Send us all a pic or story about that first trout. Regards, Silvercreek
Old 10-02-2009, 06:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkfranklin22 View Post
Hello I am new to fly fishing (i have actually never gone before) I was wondering what is some good cheap gear. I found and they seem to have some pretty cheap prices on their gear. Any suggestions?