Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Meet the New Members > New Members Board

Old 01-18-2010, 10:35 PM

Default New to GSMNP....question

Hello from Charleston, SC. I have been fishing for many years and for one reason or another have not spent any time in the GSMNP. I am planning a trip in late April and need to find a place to camp for a few days. Any suggestions on camping spots would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.
Old 01-19-2010, 12:51 PM

My favorite camping spot is Elkmont Campground in the Park just above the Park HQ...the campground is on the Little River and you can fish right there or hike as high as you wish....you are also within a short drive to the WP of the Little Pigeon, the Road Prong, Greenbrier and Cosby...because it is in the Park there are no hook ups or showers...plenty of restrooms and water....great campsites plenty of fishing
Old 01-19-2010, 01:43 PM

Hey LongSpur, I am from Charleston but live up here on the NC side of the park, I would second what Rog said, I love Elkmont, good fishing for sure and plenty of good water all around you. You chase reds down there? Good Stuff!

Barry Murphy
828-400-3335 (Cell)

www.projecthealingwaters.org
"Healing Those Who Serve"
Old 01-19-2010, 01:47 PM

You may already know this, but you can see the campground layout, see camp site availability and reserve campsites on line. I thought I had the web site bookmarked, but apparently not. A web search should produce it. Silvercreek
Old 01-19-2010, 07:09 PM

http://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisi...ry-camping.htm

Here is the park's website with info and a link to reserve online. Hope this helps.

Birdman
Old 01-19-2010, 09:54 PM

Thanks for all of the good info, I will set up shop the last week in April for a few days and check out the park. Carolina Boy, always chasing the reds down here.....love winter time fishing, lots of fish and no other boats!