Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 01-20-2010, 02:23 PM

Default Wind Knots.....help

Hey everyone, got a question for you guys.

Now I'm pretty new to fly fishing so I'm not sure if this is a problem with my gear or a problem with my technique. Here is what happens....

When on the river I notice that about 70% of the "wind knots" I get are due to the junction where the line meets the leader. No matter how closely I clip the extra line that sticks out from this knot there is still enough to grab the leader/tippet when I'm casting to cause a knot. Now, I didn't tie this knot ( i think its called a "nail knot"), I had the guy at the fly shop do it for me. I have been tempted to put a little super glue on the knot to perhaps make it a little smoother and possibly not tangle as often.

I feel that I have pretty decent casting technique for a newbie. I took several quick lessons, and was told that I had the hang of it......if that means anything.

Is this something you guys see often? Do you think iy is a poor knot that needs to be re-tied? Is it poor technnique?

I just found it odd that almost all of my knots are hung on that junction in the line.

Thanks in advance,
Foureyes
Old 01-20-2010, 03:57 PM

Default technique

Foureyes,