Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Meet the New Members > New Members Board

Old 02-02-2010, 07:36 PM

Default Howdy all.

The name is Ed. I live just outside of Mobile, AL. I'm a retired pilot fighter now for a number of years, so all I do is hunt and fish. You don't know what fishing is, until you find yourself in one of those famous jubilees we have here in the gulf.

I have been doing a lot of reading on the forums here. Trying my best to figure out where I can get in the best fishing come April, when we come up to the cabin we have rented over on the Cosby Highway. My main concern is the ease of getting into a stream that has a few decent fish, because I'm walking on a fake leg now after having a below the knee amputation back in June. Just got my new leg a few weeks ago, but my walking again after 7 months is getting better each day. Will probably just be using a cane a little to get around by the time we get to the Smokies.

Anyways, nice to meet all you fine folks.
Old 02-02-2010, 07:52 PM

Tightlines--First and foremost, thanks for your service to our country. Turning to the matter of fishing, given the physical situation you describe, I have a few suggestions. Cosby Creek would be one, and another would be the lower reaches of the Park portion of the West Prong of the Little Pigeon River (immediately below and above the (Sugarlands Visitor Center. On upstream along Hwy. 441, where the name changes to Walker Camp Prong, there are some easily accessible and fairly flat stretches as well. They are visible from the road. Quite different in nature but also possiblilites would be Little River (depending on water flow) and fishing around Tremont. I've stuck to the Tenn. side, but if you are interested in N. C. info, I'll add some more.
Finally, welcome to the Forum!
Jim Casada
www.jimcasadaoutdoors.com
Old 02-02-2010, 08:07 PM