Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 06-22-2010, 03:35 PM

Default New reel suggestion

I'm buying another outfit, and want a cheap, quality reel. On LRO, I'm looking at the Orvis Clearwater IV for $49 or the Ross Flystarts 3 or 4 for $60 and $65 respectively.

I've got an Orvis BBS III on my 5 WT, and enjoy it immensely, but I don't want to drop another $100+ on a reel. Should I buy another spool for it? At $59 for a new spool, I figure I might as well buy a completely new reel.

Keep in mind that I am a college student, and this is going to be a pricey purchase for me. I've got limited money, and I don't want to get a job until I leave for the Air Force after this summer.
Old 06-22-2010, 03:57 PM

"and want a cheap, quality reel."

You should meet my wife, who wants something great, but always for cheap. LOL

As to the Orvis or Ross, find them somewhere and fiddle with them. For me, it's always been an easier choice if I can get my hands on a reel before buying.

As for going into the AF - thank you, and God Bless you! America needs young people who are willing to serve.
Old 06-22-2010, 05:15 PM

I need to make a day trip to go fish in the Smokies soon, I could always stop by LRO. Cumberland Transit doesn't have as big of a selection, so I don't know if they'd have these reels.

I know the saying "you get what you pay for" and believe in it, but I also know there are those exceptions that are worth their weight in gold. Paintball is another hobby of mine, and I know the $1000+ guns are wicked, but I also know of a few sub-$500 guns that perform just as well.

Thanks for your support, I hope I can make it through basic. I dislocated my knee 3 years ago and it's still giving me trouble.
Old 06-22-2010, 06:42 PM

I bought an Orvis Clearwater and have been somewhat disappointed, I actually like my Cabela's Prestige Plus reel better for the same money.
Tad