Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 02-24-2011, 07:24 PM

Cool the report i promised (don't get too excited)

Didn't make it all the way to the LR trail as planned, was worried about getting caught in the passing rains too far away from the ride home! fished along the roadsides, between the Y and elkmont. first spot i stopped at, had 2 hits in the first five drifts, but couldn't hook up on either. thought to myself "this is gonna be a GREAT day!"... but, i was wrong. i'm still a rookie in the trout game, but it still hurts to have to post this. fished for 4 hours in several different areas, never had another strike. took a small swim trying to retrieve my strike indicators and lost my footing, the water is 30 degrees below COLD.
both those hits came on a beaded pheasant (or possibly the hare's ear under it?) but they proved to be much smarter than I am today. did have a small hatch come on of about 30ish over a half hour in one area (don't know my insects well enough yet to positively identify but they were about a size 16?) but never saw a single rise. tried an adams, a parachute, and BWO in similar sizes anyway, but to no avail. STILL NICE TO GET OUT THERE THOUGH... hope some of you got out and managed better than i did.
Total for the day:
2 missed strikes,
2 VERY cold legs and feet,
1 sprained ankle,
1 lost pack of strike indicators,
about 10 pictures of the scenery,
1 priceless day shared with the wife in the smokies stream,
and the knowledge that it doesn't take CATCHING to still LOVE FISHING!
Old 02-24-2011, 08:17 PM

You were out there. That's better than being stuck behind a desk.

jasonkelkins at yahoo dot com
Old 02-24-2011, 09:18 PM

Wizard,