Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Meet the New Members > New Members Board

Old 09-01-2006, 11:06 AM

Default 1st time in Smokies / Fly Fishing

I'm new to the message board and I'm fairly new to the world of fly fishing. I took my first lesson about 6 months ago and my instructor told me that "if fishing is addictive, fly fishing is crack cocaine." Well...I think he was right, because it's all I think about any more.

Any way...I'm headed to the Smokies Monday and Tuesday...camping in Cades Cove. Can anyone point me in a good direction that I could fish or where I would have the best luck for a relative beginner?

Thanks for any help and hope to see and talk to a few of you in the mountains...I can't wait!

Deedub
Old 09-01-2006, 12:34 PM

Default Re: 1st time in Smokies / Fly Fishing

Tuesday when the crowds are gone should yield some good fishing on Abrams. Drive to the abrams falls parking area and fish trailside. Be careful though. It is the slickest stream in the mountains. You could also fish Anthony Creek upstream but it is tight going.
Old 09-01-2006, 01:20 PM

I agree with TS. Anthony Creek which runs through the Picnic Area at Cades Cove offers some great fishing for small and easier to catch rainbows. I would also try the West Prong of the Little River. It a great place for beginners. Fishing is excellent from the "Y" to the tunnel or all the way to campsite 18. If you are having a hard time with dry flies try a weighted nymph under a strike indicator. Attach the indicator around 2' from the fly and watch it closely. A bead head pheasant tail will work fine.

Byron
Old 09-01-2006, 01:33 PM

Thank you both. That gives me someplace to start. I had noticed on a map of the camp site where we are staying that