Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 11-06-2006, 11:34 AM

Default Nymph Fishing?

* * * * I have been flyfishing for trout for 4 years. I never took any lessons for anything so I suppose I have *a lot of bad habits etc. I've read books and I have visited forums like this. The consensus regarding nymph fishing is to either drop a nymph off of a large dry fly or to use an indicator ( foam Football type for example) above the nymph. You are suppose to watch the floating visual aid and upon a stop or movement lift the rod tip to set the hook. Is this correct?
* * * * My experience, although not a prolific fish catcher, is that when nymphing, I seem to catch 90% of all my fish *swinging the fly down and across at perhaps a 45 degree angle and the bite is when the fly is rising to the surface. Another thing when doing this the line has no slack and the bite or strike is detected by having the index and thumb of my left hand holding the fly line. That is right I feel the strike just like I used to do when worm fishing 40 years ago in the Susquehanna river behind the Bethlehem Steel Mill. *I usuall set the hook, yes I lift the rod tip at the fist sign of a hit. I fish like this with no indicator. I catch more trout on nymphs when not using an indicator.

My question is this not a proper technique and would I do better to abandon the old feel technique and strictly fish with the visual indicator technique?
Old 11-06-2006, 11:37 AM

Default Re: Nymph Fishing?

The whole idea is to catch fish. Stay with what works and don't worry about techniques.
Old 11-06-2006, 01:41 PM