Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 12-11-2006, 08:11 PM

Default All I want for Christmas is ...

Since I'm getting in the holiday mood, I was wondering what you all are asking for from Santa. On the back side of that, what is your favorite fly fishing gift you have received?

Happy Holidays,

Dude
Old 12-11-2006, 10:15 PM

Default Re: All I want for Christmas is ...

Well, I'm pretty new to serious fly-fishing, and no one I know around here does much fly fishing, so I'm kind of on my own - have to give something to myself (which sort of defeats the purpose of giving, eh?)...anyway, since I've really fallen in love with small streams and overgrown conditions, I did buy myself a fine, top of the line 3wt earlier this fall, and I got to try it out over Thanksgiving...and, I've bought a bunch of flies, etc, so I've treated myself very well.

I did buy 3 5wt outfits for my kids, right off the LRO online catalog; I don't know how well they'll take to it - we will see.

I guess, long-term, I'd love a bamboo rod, but at those prices, I'll have to save my nickels and dimes for years for one of those
Old 12-12-2006, 07:36 AM

hmmmmm, let's see......keeping it fairly simple, I would like Santa to bring a CFO reel and a Sage 3wt rod. Don't know why I've had this dream of owning a Sage rod but it is there.

I am in the process of finishing a 3wt rod for my daughter/Christmas. I got her into FF this past spring and she is loving it, so I thought a building a rod myself for her would give it special meaning. I added on of the new Ross Flystart reels from LRO and it is looking fairly good.

Since the first rod went so well, maybe next I will build that Sage rod I've been wanting to save on Santa's wallet... :P

Remember, all kids really want is time with thier parents......which is good because then you can mold them into the adult than you would like to see them become......