Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tennessee Trout Streams and Tailwaters

Old 01-10-2007, 10:51 PM

Default Last Minute Question

This is very last minute because I just found out I have the day off tomorrow and would like to do some fishing. I checked the generation schedule for around here and see that everythign seems to be running two generators except South Holston Resevior. Is this the South Holston that everyone fishes or is it the other one that flows from Fort Patrick Henry Resevior. If one generator is flowing from the South Holston Resevior does that make it still possible to wade? This is my first time trying a new river can someone point me in the right direction. I am used to fishing the Hiwasse on one and two generators and was just wondering if this is what it would be like? I'm kinda freaking out because I dont really know where to go but dont want to waste the day since I dont have school. PLEASE someone help me out! Thanks.
Old 01-10-2007, 11:18 PM

Default Re: Last Minute Question

Hey Dude,

Been a while since I've seen you down on the HI.

Anyway, While the SOHO is not one of the rivers that I know the best, I do know you should be looking for flows from South Holston Dam on the TVA site. This is the dam that is immediately upstream of the popular tailwater that everyone fishes. Also, it has been my experience that wading and flow from the dam do not mix.

The SoHo only has one turbine and it pushes somewhere around 2100 cfs. Now it is possible that there may be some spots that are wadable with the water running, but I have no clue where they would be. Overall I'd suggest getting out of the water quickly if you notice it rising.

Hope this helps and maybe some of the other more experienced SOHO'ers will chime in. Good luck.
Old 01-10-2007, 11:25 PM

Hey Rocky,