Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2007, 12:19 AM
Vern's Avatar
Vern Vern is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Default Overlining a 7wt

Just bought a Orvis Tritan TLS, (used school rod from Game Fair here in nashville) its a tip flex 7wt. I have the same rod in a 5wt that I use on the tail waters around here. Going to use this rod for White bass, hybred, largemouth and smallmouth. Fishing the spring spanwing runs, then fishing the jumps on the lakes during the summer.
I have read a lot about over lining. I was think about trying one of the 1/2 sizes. I have never tried this, what do you all recomend? I actualy cast this rod when I put Gaintfish in a Class with Jay last year. Its very fast, which I like with my 5wt. But does overlining slow it down and make a litte more user friendly? Does it make it easier to throw the large streamers?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:58 AM
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 758
Default Re: Overlining a 7wt

Overlining will slow the rod down & should help turn over some larger flies.
I use a Wulff TT on my tip flex 7 weight, vary the length of leader to the size of fly i'm using, a 9' leader dosen't turn over a bushy or heavy #4 fly like a shorter leader will, at least it won't with my casting(insert laughter) skills.

Grumpy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2007, 10:24 AM
appalachian angler appalachian angler is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harriman, Tn.
Posts: 152
Default Re: Overlining a 7wt

Try a Rio "Clouser" line on it! They are 1/2 to 3/4 line size bigger than stated on the box. If you look at the charts AFTMA line weight of the 1st 30' of line in grains you'll see what I mean. This coming from the Rio website line specs. This line should help turn over those clousers and big hairbugs/poppers for Bass. It should help load your rod! If you go that one line size bigger it might overload it and give you some tailing loop problems when you try to double haul a bunch of line.

AA
__________________
2Timothy2:15
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.