Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Meet the New Members > New Members Board

Old 03-04-2007, 08:20 PM

Default Great Fly Shop And Great Town(send)!

My wife and I have been coming to the Smokies (mostly Townsend) for twenty years now. Usually a week in mid-May and a week in mid-September. I sure hope I can retire down there. I have only been fly fishing for about four years seriously. I love to read the daily outlook for fishing on your site everyday. They moved Troutfest to mid-May this year, so I will finally get to be there! My wife and I are not afraid to hike, so if anyone will depart with info on remote fishing spots in the Smokies, I wouldn't mind hearing about them. Keep up the good work!
"Your stature as a fly fisherman isn't determined by how big a trout you can catch, but by how small a trout you can catch without being disappointed, and, of course, without losing the faith that there's a bigger one in there." -John Gierach
Old 03-04-2007, 09:08 PM

Welcome to the board! If you want to find some good remote water, just grab a map of the park, find a decent sized stream with a good trail and start walking. Go at LEAST a couple of miles from the trailhead and for even better fishing, go 4-5 miles or more.
"Then He said to them, 'Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.'" Matthew 4:19

http://thetroutzone.blogspot.com
http://www.troutzoneanglers.com
Old 03-04-2007, 10:56 PM

Welcome Brutus,

I've done alot of hiking and backcountry camping and my map is my best friend! As I always say " Plan your hike and hike your plan!" I pick out a blue line and let the exploration begin. I say this because If you plan your own hike/fish you are more likely not to see anyone else and hopefully encounter some virgin water. IMHO, the more remote the better! Good luck to you and happy hiking/fishing.

* Many times going "off trail" with give you some fatastic fishing and vistas!