Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Meet the New Members > New Members Board

Old 03-22-2007, 08:53 AM

Default actual hatches

Hi guys,
New here, being a yankee I'd like to know what mayflies you are actually getting right now. I see the "fishing report referring to Quill Gordons, etc.
what are the actual species of mayflies, and their sizes.
thanks much,
blkbear1
Old 03-22-2007, 06:16 PM

BB1,
I'm no expert on entomology by any means. But most QGs are about a sz12. The best I can tell they are Epeorus pleuralis. I am generally fairly confident in the identification of the commonm mayflies of the Smokies to the family and genus level. I think identification of most flies to the species level should probably be left up to the experts. I have also been seeing in good numbers a couple other mayflies for the last couple weeks. Blue Quills, and Baetis have been plentiful on warm days.

If you enjoy in depth study of entomology you may find this list of aquatic species found within the park interesting.

http://www.discoverlife.org/nh/cl/GS...#Ephemeroptera

Maybe Byron has a good hatch chart recomendation. BTW welcome

Last edited by flyman; 03-23-2007 at 05:57 PM..
Old 03-23-2007, 01:05 PM

thanks Flyman!
Just preparing for the "Hendrickson" (Ephemerilla subvaria) hatch on the AuSable in Michigan. Been doing that hatch for 30 years!
Fished late summer in your neck of the woods last year, and have been dabbeling w/the idea of returning...so thanks again for the ID on your early Spring bugs for trout thugs! Aging eyes always welcome a size 12!!!!!!
blkbear1
Old 03-23-2007, 04:30 PM

Hey guys,