Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tennessee Trout Streams and Tailwaters

Old 03-27-2007, 12:52 PM

Default South Holston River

I'm a newbie to this, or any other, message board - so please be gentle. I spoke with Paula about an upcoming fishing trip this morning (used to work with her in a previous life) and she suggested posting a message here. 5 or 6 of us try and get together each spring for a fishing outing and over the years we've fished streams and rivers in N. Georgia (ATL is home) and NC and this year thought we might try TN. Some internet searching along with a personal contact indicated that the S. Holston is worth a shot. We generally travel with 2 pop-up campers and one RV, so campsites with electric, water, and shower facilities is preferred. We would also prefer wade fishing, however we can drag a boat if there is limit access. Any information you can share regarding campsites, state parks, wade access, public boat access, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for you time and responses.

Regards,

Mike
Old 03-27-2007, 12:56 PM

This on the Watauga tailwater about 20 mins from the South holston.Plenty of wading opportunities if TVA is cooperating.

http://www.riverridgecampground.net/
Old 03-27-2007, 01:06 PM

What kind of boat is it? Driftboat, Jonboat? Go see Eddie Wyatt when you go....
Old 03-27-2007, 03:18 PM

Boat is an older hull model aluminum boat about 14 ft. long with trolling motor and small gas motor.

Regards,

Mike
Old 03-27-2007, 03:19 PM

Thanks for the quick response.

Regards,

Mike
Old 03-27-2007, 04:26 PM

No problem, Mike...glad to help.