Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Warmwater Fly Fishing

Old 06-06-2007, 10:56 AM

Default Willow flies?

Anyone know if the Willow mayflies are hatching out yet?
Old 06-08-2007, 12:33 AM

do they look like an albino mayfly? If so yes. I about took a dunk today trying to catch one to take a picture for you too see if it was what you were talking about. I cant remember if its June or July, but it seems that the first of the month there are millons of mayflies at our dock on the Hiwassee. Youll go to bed and wake up and the trees are coverd in them and the post, deck, and roof of the dock are covered as well. It only lasts for a day or two it seems.
Old 06-08-2007, 11:07 AM

Default willow fly

I have only seen these flies on Watts Bar lake down at Kingston. I believe they could be the Hexagenia Bilineata. I'm no expert but the research I've looked at online says they are in the lake. They are very large mayflies and hatch out down there during the summer. I was hoping some of you guys that live down that way would confirm if they are there yet.
Heres a pict. of what they look like. Everyone just calls them "Willow Flies". cdu1961 and Kingstonian what do you say? It's been a few years since I've been there for the hatch.

Last edited by Troutman; 06-08-2007 at 11:29 AM..
Old 06-10-2007, 08:06 AM

Default Willowflies

Yep, troutman, that is what the locals call a willowfly. They run about 1 1/2 to 2" long including tail. I saw a few tangled in a spiderweb on a dock in Kingston earlier in the week when I was out with my kayak, but haven't seem any big hatches. That day I didn't get any hits on a popping bug, but I didn't fish much either. There could be some more hatching downstream.