Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 06-08-2007, 11:41 AM

Default best all round rod and reel

I am thinking about getting a new rod and reel or rather updating my old one. My question is "What would be a good all round rod and reel for trout and panfish?'' Keep in mind that I am a school teacher and money is hard to come by so keep it reasonable, let's hear from ya'll.
GMC from WTN
Old 06-08-2007, 12:06 PM

I'll let others chime in on the reel, but I love Temple Fork rods!!!!!!! A 4wt TFO Pro or Finesse from 8' - 9'. It's a great company! I know a lot of the other guys like St Croix, but for the money TFO is extremely hard to beat...

As far as a reel. I personally don't think it matters much. In general, it's just a fancy line holder. I'm sure some would disagree, but an old Chief Master Sergeant always told me I was entitled to my WRONG opinion....

Last edited by Kevin_Thomas; 06-08-2007 at 01:30 PM..
Old 06-08-2007, 02:04 PM

I second the TFO. I have a 9' 5wt and I do all of my fishing with this one rod. Are there times that I would like a 3wt or 4wt, yes; but there are also times when I like having the 5wt. I also think the price is reasonable compared to other rods out there and plus you'll get a lifetime warranty.
Old 06-08-2007, 02:18 PM

If you plan on fishing out west or on tailwaters, I would go with a 5 wt personally. For the reels, I like the Orvis Battenkill or the Battenkill Bar Stock II for a bit more $$$. The BBS is a sweet reel that is very light weight. Well worth the money in my opinion...
"Then He said to them, 'Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.'" Matthew 4:19

http://thetroutzone.blogspot.com
http://www.troutzoneanglers.com
Old 06-08-2007, 04:58 PM