Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Fly Fishing for Trout in Other States

Old 06-28-2007, 01:54 PM

Default Cumberland, KY 06-27-2007 w/PIC's

I had the great pleasure of hooking up with a good friend of my father's Mr. Bill Hall and fishing the Cumberland River in KY. Bill and my father have known eachother for around 12 to 15 years. The funny part about this is dad and I have been fishing for around 4 years together. Bill has been fishing for around 40 years and has a head full of knowledge. Until this past year dad dindn't know that he fly fished. Since then it's been a discussion every time he heads to my fathers salon to sharpen his shears. I usually hear about it the things discussed the night of or after and I always look forward to their discussions. I've had the pleasure of talking with Bill a handfull of times and listening to his float trips on the Cumberland. Not speaking for Bill, but he has fished several tributaries and is a fantastic wealth of knowledge!

I had called my dad on the 26th and asked for Bills number to see if he would mind my tagging along. The phone call was made and we set off the following morning around 6:30AM headed north. We reached Burkesville, KY around 10:00AM and launched the boat on the slip. Off we went on a haul somewhere up river reaching our destination!

The launch and run up river with slight spotty fog rolling off the water.

I had recently picked up a Z-Axis 9' 5wt rod from LRO and was anxious to break it in right and properly christen the rod! Bill set us up on several very nice runs and within his first two casts faught and landed a very nice brown.