Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Fly Fishing for Trout in Other States

Old 07-05-2007, 11:23 PM

Default Sipsey report anyone?

Anyone fished the Sipsey lately?
Old 07-05-2007, 11:39 PM

I am in Madison and just found out the Sipsey is a good place to Fly Fish. I am new to Fly Fishing but looking for local places to go. Have you fished the Sipsey very much before? I have read they stock it and have hold overs that can go 5+lbs....true?
Old 07-06-2007, 03:17 PM

i usually fish the sipsey alot but have been chasing big bluegills and shellcrackers lately.the last time i was there was about three weeks ago and caught quite a few.mostly on midge emergers and zebra midges.ants and small beatles should be working by now as well as small EWC`s(sz 16 to 1.check riversideflyshop.com for reports.
dalefish
Old 07-08-2007, 03:21 AM

hey bamabum

I try to get down there and fish every now and then. Let me know if you ever wanna ride down.
Old 07-14-2007, 09:27 PM

Would love to go down there with a guy who has been and knows the ropes there.
Old 07-18-2007, 07:40 AM

fished sunday with a little success.caught 8 and got lots of bites.for the first time in a while,drys outfished the nymphs.i tied some sz20 ants with muskrat dubbing and cdc wing before i headed out to fish and they worked great.didnt see as many ants as last sunday but the fish were still looking for them i guess.fishing is real technical right now(for the sipsey)water is low and clear and the fish have been in there a while and seen alot of stuff thrown at them.i did see some nice holdovers and caught a couple nice ones(for the sipsey)hope to get back down there this next sunday.
dalefish
Old 07-22-2007, 11:10 PM

Default Missing the Sipsey, Hiwassee, or LR anywhere else!

Hi y'all,