Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Fly Fishing for Trout in Other States

Old 07-29-2007, 09:15 PM

Default Fishing in the Upstate of SC

I'm fairly new to Upstate SC and totally new to fly fishing. I've taken the beginners class at LRO and will fish whenever possible in the GSMNP. Can anyone suggest good trout fishing spots a little closer to home?

Thanks,
Norm
Old 07-29-2007, 09:28 PM

I've never fished there, but there are a few books out that might point you in the right direction. I have "Trout Streams of Southern Appalachia" by Jimmy Jacobs; he covers some streams in the extreme northwestern corner of South Carolina. It's a good book, but he tends to shy away from any water that would be considered "tight", so I think he emphasizes the bigger streams.

I wouldn't shy away from the streams just over the border in North Carolina, either...an out of state N.C. license is cheap - it's the one I have to fish the park.
Old 07-29-2007, 10:02 PM

Thanks. I've got the NC license for the park too, but need to figure out where those streams just over the border are. I'm gonna call a few outfitters tomorrow for some more suggestions.

I see you're from Covington. I graduated from St. Paul's in '80' and was living in Mandeville before we moved to SC. Do you come up this way often?
Old 07-30-2007, 02:25 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to scflyfisher

Trouthunter,