Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 08-02-2007, 12:26 AM

Default Best Big Brown Trout Stream

What is the best big Brown trout stream in the park? I would like to have a chance to hook a 20 inch plus Brown. Any suggestion on what creek to fish. Also what size of flies to use. I was taught bigger the fly bigger the fish. I use flies tied on #6 hooks, also use #4 if the water is up. Are these too big?

Thanks,
Bill
Old 08-02-2007, 08:47 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to scflyfisher

Bill,

I'm not an expert, but I'm guessing when you hear from some of the more experienced people on this board they will be saying East prong of Little River. I personally have not caught a 20" brown yet on the east prong. I have only caught them up to about 15". I think most people would also say the best chance is when the water is up and stained. I would think yoru chances would be best with really big nymphs or streamers. However, my experience has taught me not to overlook really big terrestrials tossed by the banks, I mean really big. I don't think the size flies you mentioned are too big. The people that are good at catching these fish know a lot more about it than I do. If I ever catch one it will be one of my biggest fly-fishing accomplishments. There's a reason why there isn't many pictures on this board of 20 inchers. I'll be anxious to hear what the experts on here have to say.

Matt
Old 08-02-2007, 09:29 AM

Most browns I catch are on streamers. But nothing that big in the park. I'm not sure the assertion that the bigger the fly the bigger the fish is true, especially when it comes to nymphs. I've always had the best luck matching the size of what they're feeding on. I don't have too much experience in the park, so I'd like to hear from some others.
Old 08-02-2007, 10:02 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to scflyfisher

Bill,