Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 08-07-2007, 04:46 PM

Smile Bamboo Rods

I am thinking of purchasing a bamboo rod around a 5wt. Can anyone give me suggestions on what companies to check into. I like winstons, hardys and thomas and thomas. However I have no experience with cane rods. Any information would be quite helpfull.
Old 08-07-2007, 06:16 PM

Default bamboo

I'll start a small war with this comment, but graphite is better in every way. If you are buying bamboo, it is for reasons other than price or performance. I'm not saying that bamboo rods are bad; I'm just saying that most of their sales are driven by image and marketing. It would be trivial to make a graphite rod act like bamboo (just dampen the action, slow it down, add some weight, reduce its resiliency, and charge 300-500% more), but impossible to make bamboo act like graphite (violates physics). Or go with fiberglass, which is cheap and already acts a lot like bamboo. Just my .02! I can understand the appeal, since bamboo is classical. I consider them more like artwork than a real fishing tool that you can abuse. I'm sure someone will attempt to set me straight on the fine virtues of bamboo. I can understand it from a purist standpoint, but again, I know no one uses silk for leaders and catgut for lines.

If you are sure you want one (I used to!), I would say to stick with the big companies, or at least with a small company with a great bamboo reputation (there are a lot of guys making these in their basements, some good, some not so good). And don't buy one until you try it alongside a good graphite rod!
Old 08-07-2007, 07:31 PM