Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 10-11-2007, 11:48 AM

Default Question about rod action, ferrule

I'm still a beginner myself and I'm looking to make a rod upgrade. I have been told to buy the best rod I can afford. Right now I have my eyes set on a St. Croix Avid 4wt. or Ultra Legend 4wt. I've casted my roommate's Ultra and it is super sweet. He said the reason it cast the way it does is b/c it has a tip flex. I trust him since he used to guide. Online the action for the Avid says mod/fast and the Ultra's is fast but a tip over butt for the "ferrule". I'm not sure what ferrule means. Anyone care to explain the difference? What would be a better rod for the Smokies?
Old 10-12-2007, 09:45 AM
Administrator

Tiger fly

I moved your post to tackle and gear to give it visibility where people would be more likely to respond.

I am sure someone will pipe up soon.

Paula
Old 10-12-2007, 10:09 AM

thanks Paula
Old 10-12-2007, 12:26 PM

Default rod action

If you live close enough go to LRO and cast a few rods. I am not sure if they carry St Croix but they do have a lot of diffrent rods and the guys/gals there are very helpfull. Check out the 7'9 TFO finnesse rods, they make great smokies rods. Or if the funds are good the 8 ft winston B2X is as good as they get and has a soft tip too.
Matt
Old 10-13-2007, 07:10 PM

Default TFO Finnesse

As of yesterday, I am the proud owner of a 7'9" 4wt TFO Finnesse. Haven't gotten out on the stream yet but dry casts in the back of LRO have me itchin to get out. It's a really sweet rod for the bucks.

Thanks to Paula for guiding me through my rig purchase.

His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.
bartonca@hotmail.com
Old 10-13-2007, 08:18 PM

Send a message via AIM to Gerry Romer

Quote:
Originally Posted by nvr2L8 View Post
As of yesterday, I am the proud owner of a 7'9" 4wt TFO Finnesse.