Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 01-08-2008, 08:08 PM

Default my first time

hey, everyone this is my first thread. I have visited this forum many times , but just now registered. I am going to be vacationing in pigeon forge for a week in march. My mornings are going to be free to fish. Any suggestions on where would be very helpful, and distance / time from pigeon forge. I am pretty new to trout fishing (I have the bug). I have caught lots of (stocked & semi wild ) rainbow, but no browns or brookies, so i am very excited about the possibility of catching wild trout especially browns and brookies. Any advise would really be appreciated. Thanks everyone ( this forum is great)!!
Old 01-08-2008, 09:39 PM

welcome to the board! Stick around and you'll learn plenty about the wheres and whens of fishing the park. Better yet, go back and read everything you can find from past threads. You will find, instead of a "go here, use this" type of answer (which may leave you clueless if the info doesn't hold true), a TON of information that can arm you with confidence for your trip. There is good fishing right in PF and great fishing within 15 miles. The best thing I could suggest is go to LRO. They're about 20 minutes from PF I walked in there without a clue and said "sell me fly-fishing stuff for catching trout in the mountains over there". They did, and pointed me in the right direction. I've since been there probably more times than I've posted on this board, and now can catch fish all by myself! Also, I'm sure a number of us would love to fish with you, and show you our home. Peace!

Pat
Old 01-08-2008, 10:04 PM

Default Welcome