Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 01-09-2008, 12:03 PM

Default Considering a new pair of boots

Hey folks,

I have been considering getting a new pair of wading boots, I have been using the Chota STL for about the last 4 years, I love the fit and really don't have any major complaints so I may either re-sole them or get another pair. But I'm not thrilled with the laces, its not a problem but it seems that I have to replace them about every 6 months because they break (always at an inconvenient time). Anyway I am looking at 2 others and wondering if anyone has any experience with either. The first one that I am looking at is the new Simms Guide boot (I am not even sure if it is available yet), but it really looks good. The other one I might consider is the Korkers, but I am specifically interested in the Guide model. I love the Korker concept, but that BOA lacing system on the Guide has me concerned. I have never actually played with it, but it is a stainless steel wire system. If anyone has ever used, or even handled either of these let me know what you think. I like the synthetics but I don't like the way a lot of them look, some of them look like I should be walking on the moon rather than my local trout stream. Both of these boots use some high-tech materials but maintain something that resembles a traditional look. If you have another favorite let me know why. Thanks for the input.
Old 01-09-2008, 12:28 PM

Default wading boots