Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > In The Backcountry

Old 01-17-2008, 06:58 PM

Default First backwoods/fly fishing adventure

Hi everyone. I am a long time reader - first time poster - thanks in advance for the tips and advice.
I have never fished in the Smokies. I am planning a mid-spring "hike in" fishing trip with one of my buddies. I am relatively new to fly fishing and would like to know if anyone can recommend an itinerary for us. We would like to get away from the masses, aren't afraid to pack in 5 to 6 miles and definitely want to get into fish. Any advice you can give on streams, trails, flies or just general techniques would be appreciated.
Old 01-17-2008, 07:55 PM

Send a message via AIM to Gerry Romer

Just a quick welcome to the board!! You've certainly picked the right question/topic to start off with. I'm sure you're gonna get a ton of replies from this board.

Gerry
Old 01-17-2008, 10:45 PM

PTF,

Take a look at the attached threads on Deep Creek. I haven't been but these posts make it sound like a great target for hiking/fishing.

upper Deep Creek and Deep Creek Report (above CS#53) 9-23

His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.
bartonca@hotmail.com
Old 01-18-2008, 05:38 AM

Honestly, it's hard to pick just one stream to make a trip to. My backpacking partner and I have tried to come up with a list of places we wanted to go this year in the past and we always come up with a long list of places to go, more than we can do in one year. You really can't go wrong picking any stream, and with you saying you will go 5-6 miles back, the possibilities really are endless.