Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 01-25-2008, 12:24 PM

Default Line, leaders question...

Hey guys/gals,

I'm still very new at fly fishing, especially when it comes to trout/mountain streams. I'm from FL, and I use a 9ft 7wt rod with cortland WF line to match, with a fairly long mono leader w/no tippet on Bass. It works out perfectly. I also use those cortland braided leader loops for bass, and I have used them when fishing for trout in the park. In the GSMNP I use a 6ft 3wt rod, with cortland line to match, and again I have been using long tapered leaders, with no tippet; I know the lack of tippet material, is hindering my chance at catching those spooky fish.

Now to the questions. I haven't been using the tippet material for one simple reason - my casting is not that good. here in FL its easy to throw around a streamer in a bass pond, tippet or no tippet, I catch them. In the park, its a different story. I sometimes have issues with trees, which is why I bought a 6ft rod to replace the 8ft I broke a few years back. the 8ft rod, for me, was very tough to keep my fly out of the trees. I lost quite a few flys simply because the tippet material would break, or the knots gave way. I guess you could say I've gotten discouraged by my leader to tippet knot quality, and tippet strength. I was willing to sacrifice catching fish, in order to get more casting practice on the streams, as well as save money on flies, leaders, and tippets. I don't know how much of a good idea that was?

So, I'm thinking of getting some BlueSky Furled Leaders and was just wondering what would work best in the park for the line I'm using (which is 3w DT-F) the 0-3wt or 3-5w? I don't need any tippet material, I've got more than enough to last a couple years, froghair in 3 different sizes, and two other brands in multiple sizes that I can't remember atm.