Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 01-30-2008, 06:57 PM

Default quick question

i'm relatively new to trout fishing so any advice is appreciated. i am a long time bass angler though so i'm not entirely green. i am from a long line of good ole' country boys, so we haven't got into the fly fishing part of this yet, that is to say we still use the corn and night crawler tactics. we are planning a trip up towards the townsend area around mid-april, just an over-night camping trip, so any advice about where to fish, camp, and what to use would be greatly appreciated. their will be maybe 15 of us in all, and i want it to be a successful trip. thanks again..
Old 01-30-2008, 09:49 PM

Two great options for group camping and fishing that are within 20 minutes or so of Townsend (and Little River Outfitters which needs to be your first stop) are:
  1. Elkmont Campground with the Little River running right through it (easy access to waters with both rainbows and browns) and
  2. Cades Cove campground with a short drive around the CC loop road to Abrams Creek (great rainbow waters)
If you're going to camp with a large group you better start now making reservations - the campgrounds fill up quickly.

As to what to use, check out the following thread http://littleriveroutfitters.com/for...ead.php?t=9663 This is the best set of info on favorite flies and several include seasonal selections.

His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.
bartonca@hotmail.com
Old 01-30-2008, 10:27 PM