Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > General Fly Tying

Old 02-24-2008, 07:42 PM

Default HELP! Pheasent tail nymph legs.

Ok, I'm still very new to tying flies and my goal is to tie pheasent tails in all sizes. I'm trying to tie a traditional pheasant tail nympy with weighted body and at the moment I'm using #14 hooks. I'm doing just fine until its time to finish the fly. The point right after I've tied off the peacock herled thorax and have folded and tied off the pheasant tail fibers over the top of the herl forming the wing pad "some folks use shell back here" I'm suppossed to flair out the tips of the fibers up and to the sides then tie them off in a manner that pushes the tips back and slightly down/under the thorax forming legs. Having large amt. of trouble with this last step which forms those danged legs. What usually occurrs is the legs on the far/reverse side of the fly usually get run to far under the fly and the legs on the near/viewed side just tie off to the side but not sightly down. Trying to accomplish this with my left fingers is akward at best and it seems there must be a better way!

Thanks in advance!
Chad
Old 02-24-2008, 08:48 PM

instead of tying off the wing case and then folding back the fibers, tie off the wing case over the peacock and then clip the extra off. if you have enough left over from the wing case, and you probably will, lay two of the extras on one side (tapered end toward tail of fly), secure with a couple turns of thread, pull to desired leg length, and then tighten down with a few more turns. repeat on the other side and then whip finish and you're done.