Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report from Townsend, Tennessee.  It is cold and wintery looking here at the edge of Great Smoky Mountains National Park. So far we haven't gotten the frozen precipitation the weather forecasters were calling for and that is falling to our south. I am hoping that it misses us. I'd rather drive to work in the morning on dry roads. Sunday is calling for 50 and sunny. That will be nice. It will help keep us from dreading the 30 degree days which will follow.

Water temperatures have dropped over the last several days. It is back down in the high 30's. This is going to make for some challenging fishing. Nymphs with weight will be your best options. Get the fly down to where the trout are.

I chatted with Sean McKay briefly this morning. He said that he fished some tailwaters recently and found them to be a bit slow due to the cold weather. He also mentioned that the Delayed Harvest streams around the area have been doing well.

New fishing licenses will be available on February 18th. It doesn't appear that there is any change in costs. Last Fall TWRA did add several new licenses which will be very popular.
Type 023 - Resident 1-day Fishing License - All Species $11.00
Type 082 - Nonresident 1-day Fishing License (except trout) **this license is valid for trout inside GSMNP ** $8.00
Type 083 - Nonresident 1-day Fishing License - All Species $16.00
Type 097 - Resident or Nonresident 1-day Gatlinburg Trout License $11.50

If you are coming to Tennessee for several days of fishing it will still be better to get the 3 or 10 day licenses but FINALLY people are able to get a license for just a single day. Also, with the addition of the Type 23 license residents won't be forced to buy an $18 trout license when they are only buying a 1-day permit. I think these additions are going to be good for everyone.

A quote from the TWRA website. "Hunting and fishing license sales and federal excise taxes comprise almost 100 percent of the TWRA's operating funds. Thank you for buying a hunting and fishing license. Without your support, Tennessee would not have the abundance of fish and wildlife that we all enjoy."

Mike Adams will be tying here on Saturday.  Many of you know Mike.  He is a guide specializing on the South Holston and Watauga Rivers.  His fly tying skills are unbelievable.  He will tie between 10:00 am and 2:00 pm. It's Free! Just show up.

Byron will be back to write tomorrow. Stop by the Shop and see Mike tie some flies tomorrow. Have a great day and thank you for being here with us. 

Daniel Drake
February 4, 2011

 

Respond To: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY TYING CLASSES

Our fly tying classes will be offered in January and February 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly tying class schedule follows:

Saturday January 8 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday January 15 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday January 22 – Advanced Fly Tying
Saturday February 5 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday February 19 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday February 26 – Advanced Fly Tying

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap