Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report.  It is frosty in Townsend, Tennessee this morning.  Traffic was fairly heavy earlier.  I probably saw 50 vehicles on the streets and roads.  The mountains in the Park are in plain view.  The air is clear but the skies are cloudy.  It is going to be fairly warm today, we’ll get rain and maybe some light snow tonight.  The first week of February is about over. 

Little River is calm and flowing about normal.  Today the flow is 352 cubic feet per second.  Normal for this date is 335 cfs.  The water temperature was 39 degrees at 8:30 am. 

Fishing will probably be slow but a few trout can be caught using nymphs or maybe streamers.  The water temperature will warm some today so I would go later today if you decide to go.  The tailwaters are fishing well.  Jack told me some stories last night between commercials that indicate the browns and large ones at that, are feeding in the rivers below the dams. 

In Great Smoky Mountains National Park we’ll see the fishing pick up when the water reaches and exceeds 50 degrees.  I don’t see that happening over the next 10 days according to the weather forecast.  This is fly tying and boat preparation time.  It is also Troutfest preparation and planning time.  My Troutfest plate is full.  The whole committee has a full plate.

Banquet tickets are officially on sale.  You can call us at the shop at 877-448-3474 to order yours.  You can use Mastercard, Visa or American Express.  Your change will show up as the Little River Chapter of Trout Unlimited.  Bill and Sheila have one of the Chapter’s credit card processing machines at their home.  You will receive your tickets in the mail.  The banquet will be held Friday May 13th at 6:00 pm.  We are limiting ticket sales to 350.  You can also buy them from our shop’s online catalog.  Your purchase will be run through the Chapter’s credit card machine and they will be mailed to you just like the phone orders.

You better make your reservations for a motel room or cabin as soon as possible.  There are some other large events going on and the rooms are slipping away.  I’m meeting with the Visitor’s Bureau board tomorrow.  We will discuss using the hotels at the airport as an option for you.  The airport properties are only 25 minutes away.  You should be able to have a good selection of cabins and B & B’s to choose from right now.  But, don’t wait too long.  One group rented 30 rooms at the Highland Manor last week. 

OK, my favorite commercial last night was presented by Budweiser.  A wild west saloon was the prop.  After sipping a Bud, the cowboy started singing Tiny Dancer an old song by Elton John.  It was great.  That was an exciting game too. 

We have a lot going on here today, mainly ordering and meeting with our Simms Rep.  He’s the guy who has the big motor home wrapped in Simms graphics.  You probably saw that machine at Troutfest last year.  He will be back this year with the rolling showroom.  It is impressive.

Have a great day and thank you for being here with us.

Byron Begley
February 7, 2011
 

Respond To: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY TYING CLASSES

Our fly tying classes will be offered in January and February 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly tying class schedule follows:

Saturday January 8 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday January 15 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday January 22 – Advanced Fly Tying
Saturday February 5 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday February 19 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday February 26 – Advanced Fly Tying

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap