Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report.  It is a beautiful morning here in Townsend. There are some high broken clouds but the sun is shining. Trees are flowering and some others are getting the first buds of green. Spring is definitely here.

There has been quite a few people through the Shop already this morning. The drawer is full of yellow slips as everyone renews their fishing licenses. The reports we heard yesterday afternoon and this morning were mostly slow for yesterday. Everyone is seeing a bunch of bugs from Quill Gordons to small dark stoneflies. Anglers weren't seeing many rising trout. Water temps are warmer this morning than they were yesterday so that is definitely going to help get things going today. I see that the moon is almost full.....as I've mentioned before...I have no scientific evidence to make any kind of statement but it does seem like a full moon causes fishing to be off some. Good fishing....bad fishing....this weather is way to nice to stay stuck at home.

If I were able to go fishing in the Smokies today my box would have, Quill Gordons #12-#14. Blue Quill #14-#16, Dun Elk Hair Caddis #14-#16, Parachute Adams #12-#18, Blue Wing Olive #14-#18. For nymphs I'd have BH Pheasant Tails #12-#16, BH Prince #12-#16, Copper John #14-#16. I'd probably have a couple of wet flies to use as a dropper below the quill gordons.

Water levels are still high but are now down to a more workable level. The gauge is currently reading 2.69 feet or 485 cfs. This is still a little higher than the normal for today. This water can be fishable but you have to be careful. Water at any flow can be fast and dangerous. Just be smart and don't over wade.

New products are showing up everyday. We got in a big shipment from Fishpond yesterday afternoon. We finally got a shipment from Korkers so we have some of the new Chrome and Redside boots to sell. Redington Sonic Seam waders are here too.

Byron and Paula are off for the first Spring voyage in the boat. I hope they have a fun time and catch some smallies. Get out and fish this weekend!

Have a great day and thank you for being here with us.

Daniel Drake
March 18, 2011 

 

Respond to: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap