Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fly fishing guides

Default Fly fishing guides

I'll be visiting SMNP in late September and I'm wondering if I should hire a guide or spend money on equipment. (beginner here) I'm not even sure what guides do exactly. Do they just take you to the best spots, or is there an instruction element involved?

There is a bit of both instruction and getting on the right location. As a relative newbie myself I would say hire a guide the first day of the trip and then try it on your own after that day.

Best of luck to you and welcome to the board!
    "The finest gift you can give to any fisherman is to put a good fish back, and who knows if the fish that you caught isn't someone else's gift to you?" Lee Wulff

Definitely hire a guide...I struggled for 2 years because of refusing to hire one. They can get you to catching fish right away and take you to the best spots. I recommend David Knapp or Ian Rutter. They both know a lot and are very good at what they do.

I've used Ian Rutter twice . He knows the park and he is very patient. One of the times I used him was to work primarily with my adult son who was a beginner.
    Mike

I concur with BlueRaiderFan in recommending David Knapp or Ian Rutter.

I am
    more partial to supporting David in that he is a loyal member of this forum. Also; he tries to help others and promote stewardship on the river!

Also; stop by LRO and speak with Daniel about tips and flies to use....
    “Every human has four endowments- self awareness, conscience, independent will, & creative imagination.
    These give us the ultimate human freedom... The
    power
    to choose, to respond, to change.”

Quote Originally Posted by LoneWolfe View Post
    I'll be visiting SMNP in late September and I'm wondering if I should hire a guide or spend money on equipment. (beginner here) I'm not even sure what guides do exactly. Do they just take you to the best spots, or is there an instruction element involved?