Thread: thread furled leaders

Default thread furled leaders

I have been using a Uni-thread furled leader for a couple of years now. Rog1 gave me one to try out on one of his trips to the park. I really like the way they cast a dry fly. No coils to straighten out like mono, and a little float paste keeps them on top all day. I have not ever seen them in fly shops, only mono furled or twisted styles. Does anyone else use them or make their own locally?

Quote Originally Posted by Troutman View Post
    I have been using a Uni-thread furled leader for a couple of years now. Rog1 gave me one to try out on one of his trips to the park. I really like the way they cast a dry fly. No coils to straighten out like mono, and a little float paste keeps them on top all day. I have not ever seen them in fly shops, only mono furled or twisted styles. Does anyone else use them or make their own locally?
    Handy I recently posted elsewhere about them.

I suspect you know all the benefits. I don't think I will ever go back to tapered leaders. One $10-$15 leader lasts a season or more. I loop to loop connect to the fly line and clinch knot tippet to the ring. No blood, surgeons, etc. are required to add tippet. Less time with too short a leader, less time adding tippet, more time fishing.

I've been using Streamside Leaders (single man operation near Chicago) for 4 years. Michael offers many options on the leader; different materials, (all uni thread, bifilament, all mono, spectra); leg numbers, colors (30+ and up to 3 in a leader); length; and even a choice between 4 different tippet ring shapes or a shorb loop. I typically receive the leaders from him within 5 days of my order, shipped for free.

I think bigsur uses streamside as well.