Thread: Dry and dropper?

Default Dry and dropper?

just started using the dry and dropper with pretty good results. Still getting used to it as I do miss some strikes on the dropper, but overall, I like it.

However, I do have a question. Casting takes some getting used to with this, but what throws better with a d&d, a slow rod or a faster rod or does it matter at all?

Thanks!

Not sure if it matters, maybe, I just don't know. You just have to practice and you will get used to it. I fish dry/dropper 99% of the time.
    Wild troutin, blue linin, fly flingin, camo wearin, redneckin elitist.

I don't intend to hijack your thread, but with a dry and dropper, how much length do you put between the two? I usually put about 10-12 inches.

What other factors go into deciding the length?

Thanks!

I try to put around 16". However, I have put a bit longer, but the 16 seems to work better.

Don't know if that is the best as I am new to this game of dry and dropper, but that is what I have been told to use.

If you are fishing in the Smokies, Park regulations require a minimum of 12" between flies. I like to go a little longer, at least 16" or so. The last thing you need on a fishing trip is to have a Park ranger pull out a ruler and discover you are 1/4" short...
    "Then He said to them, 'Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.'" Matthew 4:19

Guided Fly Fishing with David Knapp
    The Trout Zone Blog

Quote Originally Posted by David Knapp View Post
    If you are fishing in the Smokies, Park regulations require a minimum of 12" between flies. I like to go a little longer, at least 16" or so. The last thing you need on a fishing trip is to have a Park ranger pull out a ruler and discover you are 1/4" short...
    DK...your comment regarding the park ranger and his ruler is interesting. But there is no mention of spacing in the regulations for the dropper from the first fly.

http://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisit/fishing.htm