Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rod suggestions

Default Rod suggestions

I have been fly fishing for about two years. I mainly fish the tailwaters. I have a beginner setup I picked up from Gander Mountain. I think it is time to upgrade ha ha. I am by no means an expert caster. With that in mind, any suggestions on a new rod?

Default Echo Base is Sweet

Quote Originally Posted by jbuck View Post
    I have been fly fishing for about two years. I mainly fish the tailwaters. I have a beginner setup I picked up from Gander Mountain. I think it is time to upgrade ha ha. I am by no means an expert caster. With that in mind, any suggestions on a new rod?
    Glad you've stuck with it long enough to be ready to move up. I'm not a big gear addict - but I have owned a few rods from the lowest end of the spectrum, to the middle of the road. I recently purchased an Echo Base rod as a backup rod and for when friends come along. The decision was based on a bunch of reviews and recommendations online.

So far, I really like it. It's not quite as fast as what I thought it would be - but I've only fished it with a slightly heavy sinking line.

Here's one of the better reviews.
    Last edited by technowannabe; 08-27-2016 at 08:22 AM. Reason: Correction

How much do you want to spend? I'd head to a flyshop & cast as many as they have in the price range you're thinking about.
    With today's rods, you could be happy with a $200 rod or $800.

Grumpy

I would prefer to have both a new rod and reel for around $400.

Quote Originally Posted by jbuck View Post
    I would prefer to have both a new rod and reel for around $400.