Thread: Clinch Fall Tips

Default Clinch Fall Tips

This is my first year fishing the clinch in the fall. The past two times fishing for me has been noticeably slower than just a few months ago. Can anyone speak on how the fishery changes, what fly selection is different, or what techniques are more productive? Or is fishing just simply slower in the cooler months?

To make the most of each outing; I think you need to look at what has changed (conditions) and think about what the fish are doing. Be mindful of the bugs hatching and not hatching. Also; note the clarity of the water and sky. At these times; you will want to be the most stealth with presentation and the most keen with fly imitation. I know this is roundabout advice; but, I hope it helps you expand your skill set.
    “Every human has four endowments- self awareness, conscience, independent will, & creative imagination.
    These give us the ultimate human freedom... The
    power
    to choose, to respond, to change.”

The usual midge larvae selection work all fall and winter. And spring and summer really. I do seem to catch a few more on red midges in colder months, but then again they work in the other seasons as well. One thing that makes the clinch easier than it could be is that there is a limited variety of food source, insect wise at least, in the river. Midges, Scuds, and sulfers is about it.

Quote Originally Posted by 2weightfavorite View Post
    The usual midge larvae selection work all fall and winter. And spring and summer really. I do seem to catch a few more on red midges in colder months, but then again they work in the other seasons as well. One thing that makes the clinch easier than it could be is that there is a limited variety of food source, insect wise at least, in the river. Midges, Scuds, and sulfers is about it.